The Adventure of the Crooked Man

Arthur Conan Doyle

Book 0 of canon of Sherlock Holmes

Language: English

Published: Jan 1, 1893


Colonel Barclay, a commander of the Royal Mallows Regiment, is dead. His wife is the first and main suspect because the servants in the house heard the couple fight and quarrel over something. Some screams followed and shortly after the driver found the commander dead and his wife passed out on the coach. Sherlock Holmes takes up on the case and investigates the crime scene. As always there is much more to the story than it seems in the beginning so he digs deeper in Colonel’s past. "The Adventure of the Crooked Man" is a part of "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes". Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) was born in Scotland and studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh. After his studies, he worked as a ship’s surgeon on various boats. During the Second Boer War, he was an army doctor in South Africa. When he came back to the United Kingdom, he opened his own practice and started writing crime books. He is best known for his thrilling stories about the adventures of Sherlock Holmes. He published four novels and more than 50 short-stories starring the detective and Dr Watson, and they play an important role in the history of crime fiction. Other than the Sherlock Holmes series, Doyle wrote around thirty more books, in genres such as science-fiction, fantasy, historical novels, but also poetry, plays, and non-fiction.